NAPTOSA Western Cape
Registered. SACE registration and CPTD points, explained by a teachers' union
Every educator teaching in South Africa must be registered with the South African Council for Educators before they may be employed. Registration is an application to SACE with certified documents, and it must be kept current. Continuing Professional Teacher Development (CPTD) points are the ongoing requirement that keeps it valid: 150 points across each three-year cycle.
- You cannot legally be employed as an educator in South Africa without SACE registration.
- Registration is a document exercise. Most delays are missing or uncertified paperwork.
- CPTD runs on a three-year cycle worth 150 points, and NAPTOSA records points for members.
- If your application stalls, a union can escalate it. You do not have to wait alone.
You asked: How much does a SACE certificate cost?
How much does a SACE certificate cost?
R200 if you are a South African citizen, R400 if you are not, and R50 to replace a certificate. The fee is non-refundable, so check you qualify before you pay.
The full breakdown, including what the recurring levy costs and why most articles quote the wrong number, is in what a SACE certificate costs and how long it takes.
Where do I submit a SACE registration application?
Online, on the government e-Services portal at www.eservices.gov.za — not on SACE’s own website. The Version 2025 registration booklet puts it in one line: "All applications must be submitted Online via the eservice's portal: www.eservices.gov.za".
That instruction is not scoped to one kind of applicant. SACE’s Registration Requirements, Revised November 2024 opens every category page across its sixteen pages with a version of the same sentence — professionally qualified educators, student teachers, special categories, religious educators, music and performing arts teachers, therapists, psychologists and social workers, and even a request for a duplicate certificate: "All Applications for registration must be done via the online registration portal on www.eservices.gov.za ( https://www.eservices.gov.za/tonkana/home.jsf)". All four Version 2025 booklets carry it too.
The path, step by step
The booklet gives the navigation in two lines: "Go to www.eservices.gov.za", then "Click on Education, then SACE professional registration."
We opened the portal on 18 September 2026 and that navigation is there. Education is one of sixteen service categories on the portal home page, and inside it SACE Professional Registration is the first service listed, described as "Online Registration for Educators with the South African Council for Educators."
Start from the portal home page and click through. Do not bookmark or type the Education page’s own address: it resolves only inside a live session, and on its own it returns you to the portal home page.
We also confirmed that you must be logged in before the application opens — activating the SACE service as a visitor does not start a form. We did not go inside the logged-in application, so the steps below are SACE’s own description of it rather than something we watched happen.
- Go to www.eservices.gov.za, then "Click on Education, then SACE professional registration."
- "Create a profile by creating a username and password."
- "If you receive a message that your profile already exists OR your ID number is invalid, this means that you are already registered on the eservices and there is no need to create a new profile." SACE’s instruction is then to "Proceed directly to login" — do not create a second profile.
- "Login using the created username and password to start your application process." If you have forgotten them, "click on forgotten username/ password to reset your login details."
- "Read the terms and conditions and begin the application process, click on new application or status update if you are already registered with SACE."
- "Choose the type of registration you want to apply for", then "Read the registration requirements before beginning the application process."
- "Complete the online application process and upload the required documents."
- Pay online, or "Upload Proof of payment if you paid via the Bank / EFT/ or you have proof of payment (email) from SACE."
- "Click submit when done to ensure that the application is submitted."
Source for steps 01 to 09: SACE, SACE registration booklet, Version 2025 (professionally qualified, SA citizens), page 2, under "Steps on how to submit an Online application". The same step list appears in all four Version 2025 booklets.
e-Services is the government’s shared portal, not a SACE-only system. On SACE’s own instruction, if you have used e-Services for another government service that account already works here and you should not create a second profile.
One link on SACE’s home page will take you off the government portal
SACE’s home page carries an "Online Registration" notice pointing you to the portal. It contains two links that both read as www.eservices.gov.za. The first is correct. The second is not: its address is www.eservices.co.za, which resolves to a private commercial site with no connection to the government portal. Before you type anything in, check that the address bar says eservices.gov.za. If it says anything else, go back and type the address yourself.
Get the file format right before you start
SACE rejects applications on this, and says so in the same booklet: "All documents are saved in PDF", "Pictures and screenshots will be rejected", "All copies must be recently certified (not older than 6 months)", "Certification must indicate true copy of original and be dated" and "All copies must be clear when submitted." Scan everything to PDF before you log in.
We could not find a maximum upload file size stated anywhere — not in the four Version 2025 booklets, not in the Revised November 2024 requirements, and not on the portal pages we fetched. SACE’s published sources are silent on it, so keep your scans to a sensible size rather than assuming a limit either exists or does not.
What you pay
The registration fee is R200 for South African citizens and R400 for non-South African citizens; an update is R50. The SA-citizen booklet states "Registration fee R200 for SA citizens" and "Update Fee R50"; the non-SA-citizen booklet states "R400 registration / R50 Update". Both add "Note that Council Fees are subject to change", and both warn: "Registration fee is non-refundable, make sure you qualify and have all required documents before submitting the application."
Is there still a paper route?
On SACE’s current dated documents, no — they say online. But SACE has left older material live, and it says something different.
SACE’s registration FAQ, which carries no date and describes online applications as something SACE is still "making preparations to utilize", answers the question of whether educators may post their forms instead of coming into the office like this: "We prefer this process. Educators should post their application forms and certified copies of their qualifications & identity document, and a postal order of R200 for South African educators and R400 for foreign educators as payment for registration, by registered mail." Read in context, that is a stated preference for post over a walk-in, not for post over the portal. The same undated page refuses email and fax — "No. The office must have the original application form" — and on walk-ins says "Our operations are not designed to process hundreds of walk-in applications. Therefore, we do accommodate limited numbers of educators who want to register directly at our offices." SACE’s home page also still tells applicants to "download the application form here", though that particular link is broken and goes nowhere.
Our reading is to follow the dated 2024 and 2025 documents and apply online. They are the most recent, they are unambiguous, and SACE’s own menus now send you to the portal. Treat the FAQ page as legacy content, and phone SACE before posting anything.
One caveat on dates, for the record. The Registration Requirements document is not uniformly from November 2024: odd pages 1 to 11 carry a "Revised November 2024" footer, even pages 2 to 12 carry no date, and pages 13 to 16 still read "Adopted by SACE Council Revised July 2021". The online-only instruction appears on all of them, so the conclusion is unaffected — it means only that the portal route has been the stated rule for several years.
Where SACE is, if you need a person
Head office is at Crossway Office Park, Block 1, 240 Lenchen Avenue, Centurion, 0157, postal address Private Bag X127, Centurion 0046, on 012 663 9517 and info@sace.org.za, open Monday to Friday 08h00 to 16h30. SACE’s contact page files Fraudalert@sace.org.za under the heading "Call Centres" without saying what it is for, so ask before using it.
SACE lists no Western Cape office. Both of its published office lists — the contact page and the back cover of the Version 2025 booklet — show the same four provincial offices, in KwaZulu-Natal, the Free State, Limpopo and the Eastern Cape, and no Western Cape entry. SACE does not state anywhere that no such office exists; it simply publishes none, so expect to deal with Centurion. Neither list gives a telephone number or an email address for any provincial office — the Centurion details are the only ones published, which is a further reason the online route matters here.
Sources: SACE, registration booklet, Version 2025 and the other three booklets on the registration booklets page; Registration Requirements, Revised November 2024; SACE’s undated registration FAQ and contact page; and the e-Services portal. All accessed 18 September 2026.
You asked: What is needed to register for SACE?
What is needed to register for SACE?
Registration fails on paperwork far more often than on eligibility. Assemble everything before you open the application, because a part-finished submission is the most common reason a teacher ends up waiting months.
It depends which SACE booklet applies to you: there is no single checklist that covers everyone. For registration as an educator or a student teacher, SACE publishes four separate Version 2025 booklets, all headed "Compulsory documents required for registration with SACE", and the list you must follow is the one for your category:
Professionally qualified educators, SA citizens · Professionally qualified educators, non-SA citizens · Student teachers, SA citizens · Student teachers, non-SA citizens
All four are marked Version 2025, and all four PDFs carry a 2025-11-24 stamp in their file paths on sace.org.za, which is the most recent dating available for them — the booklet pages themselves show no publication date.
These four are not the only applicant categories SACE recognises. Its registration requirements page also lists, among others, a person not in possession of a professional teaching qualification, foreign educators, ECD practitioners, AET educators, FET educators, Montessori educators, Waldorf educators, Islamic educators and Catholic educators, plus replacement of a lost certificate and provisional registration updates. If you are in one of those categories, the checklist below is not your list — go to that page or phone SACE.
What every applicant submits, in all four booklets
- Proof of identity. SA citizens: "Copy of Identity Document (Both side if it is a smart ID card)." Non-SA citizens: a valid passport plus a permit — a work permit if you are professionally qualified, where "The conditions of the permit must allow one to teach in SA", or a study permit if you are a student teacher, or "Any other valid and relevant permit, which does not prohibit one to study in SA". Every permit must be "valid for a period of six months or more at the time of submission to SACE". The refugee-permit rule is narrower than it is usually quoted: only the professionally qualified non-SA booklet carries it, and it reads "If using a refugee Permit, a valid Refugee ID must also accompany the refugee permit". The student teacher non-SA booklet does not mention refugee permits at all, so a student teacher on one should ask SACE rather than assume either way.
- A school-leaving certificate — National Senior Certificate, Senior Certificate, NASCA, or Level 4 National Certificate (Vocational). Each is marked "NOT A STATEMENT OF RESULTS". This appears in all four booklets, including both non-SA ones.
- A police clearance certificate — "Not a name/ fingerprint clearance OR proof of payment for application", and it "must not be older than six months at the time of submission to SACE". SACE verifies these: "All Police Clearance /Certificates will be subjected to verification and unverifiable clearances will not be accepted."
- An academic record. Professionally qualified SA citizens: "Copy of a complete academic record indicating that the qualification has been completed, indicating the date of completion and relevant credits." Professionally qualified non-SA citizens: the same, tied explicitly to the degree — "A Copy a complete academic record for the NQF Level 7 Teaching qualification (as indicated above)". Student teachers, both booklets: "Copy of an academic record post first year of study", together with "A copy of current Proof of registration" for the qualification being studied.
- Five conditions attach to that academic record, in every booklet, word for word. It "must be on the University letter head, have an OFFICIAL UNIVERSITY STAMP, be dated, signed, and be CERTIFIED." A record missing the letterhead, the stamp, the date, the signature or the certification does not meet the requirement.
- Proof of payment — R200 for SA citizens, R400 for non-SA citizens, R50 for an update. The booklets add "Note that Council Fees are subject to change", and that the registration fee is non-refundable.
If you are professionally qualified: the qualification itself, in both booklets
- The teaching qualification and its transcript — not only the academic record. SA citizens: "Relevant NQF level 7 Teaching Qualification and certified transcript." Non-SA citizens: "A copy of a relevant NQF Level 7 Professional Teaching Qualification, e.g., B.Ed. certificate and certified Transcript." This binds both professionally qualified booklets. It is not an SA-only item.
If you did a PGCE, one more record — and only then
- The junior-qualification academic record. This is the item most often listed as if it applied to everyone. It does not. Professionally qualified SA citizens: "PGCE qualified applicants MUST also submit a copy of a complete academic record for the JUNIOR QUALIFICATION". Professionally qualified non-SA citizens: "PGCE graduates, must also submit a copy of a complete academic record for the JUNIOR QUALIFICATION". Both student teacher booklets widen it: "PGCE and ADVDip TVET student teachers MUST also submit a copy of a complete academic record for the JUNIOR QUALIFICATION". The same five conditions apply to that record. Note that the Advanced Diploma (TVET) route is named only in the two student teacher booklets; neither professionally qualified booklet mentions it.
- A copy of the junior qualification certificate — and here the booklets disagree with each other. The two SA-citizen booklets set "Copy of the junior qualification certificate." as its own bullet in the compulsory list, immediately after the PGCE bullet, which read literally makes it compulsory for every applicant. The two non-SA booklets fold the identical words into the end of the PGCE sentence, where it plainly binds PGCE applicants only. SACE has not resolved this in the Version 2025 text. If you are an SA citizen who did not do a PGCE, ask your SACE office rather than guessing.
Items that depend on your circumstances
- A copy of your A and O Levels, only "if matriculated outside the republic of SA (international matric)".
- A marriage certificate, divorce decree or assumption of new name, "where applicable".
- "A copy of a computerised SAPS 69 report for all those with criminal offences (SAPS verification)."
- "Copy of a QR Coded SAQA Evaluation report for all qualification obtained outside of the Republic of South Africa, including A/O Levels."
- A copy of your old passport — in the two non-SA booklets only, where you were previously registered with SACE under a different passport number.
Certification and file format
Every booklet repeats the same block: "All copies must be recently certified (not older than 6 months)", "Certification must indicate true copy of original and be dated", all documents "must be saved in PDF", "Pictures and screenshots will not be accepted", and "All copies must be clear when submitted." The four booklets agree with each other on all of this, and none of them says who may certify a copy.
SACE’s undated registration requirements page says something stricter and different: "Certification should not be older than 3 months." and "Only certification done by Commissioners of Oaths, SAPS and Post office will be accepted." That page carries no date or version marker and still describes a paper, post-only process which the Version 2025 booklets have replaced with the online portal, so we treat the dated booklets as current. The safe course satisfies both: have your copies certified by a Commissioner of Oaths, SAPS or the Post Office, within the last three months.
Note what the six-month rule covers. It attaches to the certification stamp on a copy, and separately to the police clearance and to permit validity. The booklets set no expiry on a qualification or an academic record itself — but they do not say an old one is accepted either. They are silent on it. If your degree is many years old, confirm with SACE rather than assuming.
Two gaps worth naming. The student teacher booklets require an academic record "post first year of study", and do not say what a first-year student teacher, who has no such record, should submit — ask your SACE office. And none of the four booklets asks for a CV, a letter of employment, a school appointment letter, testimonials or a passport photograph.
Where the documents go
All four booklets say the same thing: "All applications must be submitted Online via the eservice's portal: www.eservices.gov.za" — Education, then SACE professional registration.
Sources: SACE’s four Version 2025 registration booklets, listed on the registration booklets page — professionally qualified SA citizens, professionally qualified non-SA citizens, student teachers SA citizens and student teachers non-SA citizens — and SACE’s undated registration requirements page. All accessed 18 September 2026.
You asked: How long does online SACE registration take?
Wait.
The wait is not a queue you can hurry. It is a process you can either enter correctly or enter twice.
SACE publishes several turnaround figures and they do not agree with each other. None is dated, and none is offered as a guarantee.
Plan around it. If you are applying for a post, start registration before you need it, not when a school asks for the certificate.
How long does SACE take?
SACE publishes more than one figure and they do not agree. Its current Annual Performance Plan targets thirty working days to issue a certificate once an application has been assessed, while an undated page on its own site still quotes six weeks by post.
The figures, where each one comes from and what SACE does not commit to are set out in what a SACE certificate costs and how long it takes.
You asked: How do I check if I am registered with SACE?
How do I check if I am registered with SACE?
Use the status check on SACE’s own home page: it takes your ID or passport number and returns your educator status on screen. There are two routes, and they do different jobs.
1. The instant status check on the SACE website
The SACE home page carries a button marked "Verify My Educator Status". Clicking it opens a box headed "Educator Status Verification" which reads: "Please enter your South African ID number or your Passport number to verify your educator status." One field is required, labelled "South African ID number or Passport Number*". Press Verify and the page displays the status it gets back.
That single field is all the form asks for. No SACE number, no documents, no upload. SACE does not publish a charge for this check and the form has no payment step, but SACE does not state anywhere that it is free either.
Two things are worth knowing. The form does not ask who you are, so it is not restricted to looking yourself up — a school checking a teacher’s status can use the same box. And SACE does not publish what the returned wording means, so treat an answer you did not expect as a reason to phone rather than as the final word.
2. Formal verification of a SACE certificate or letter, by email
This is a different thing: asking SACE to confirm that a registration certificate or letter in someone’s hands is genuine. SACE’s verification process page says, in full:
"For verification of SACE registration letters/ certificates an email must be forwarded to verification@sace.org.za in the following format: Surname and Initials · ID number · SACE number · SACE comments"
The email must carry those four lines. SACE does not explain anywhere what it means by "SACE comments", so we quote the page exactly as SACE has written it rather than guess. SACE also states no turnaround time and no fee for a verification request. The six weeks you may have seen quoted is on SACE’s undated registration FAQ and is about processing a registration application and issuing a certificate, not about verification. If you need an answer by a date, phone 012 663 9517 in office hours, Monday to Friday 08h00 to 16h30, and ask.
The general enquiry address is info@sace.org.za. SACE’s contact page also lists Fraudalert@sace.org.za, filed under the heading "Call Centres" with no explanation of its purpose, so ask before using it.
If you cannot remember whether you ever completed it
Assume you did not, and check. A registration that was never finalised looks identical to one you have simply forgotten, and the free-text status box will tell you in seconds which it is.
Note for Western Cape educators: SACE’s contact page lists provincial offices in KwaZulu-Natal, the Free State, Limpopo and the Eastern Cape, and none in the Western Cape. Head office is in Centurion, so expect to do this by the online check, by phone or by email.
Sources: SACE home page (the "Verify My Educator Status" button and the "Educator Status Verification" form), SACE Verification Process page, and the SACE contact page. Accessed 18 September 2026.
Does SACE registration expire, and how do I renew it?
Full registration has no published expiry date or renewal cycle; provisional registration does have a limit and can lapse. Renewals, extensions and status updates are all done online at www.eservices.gov.za.
Full registration
SACE does not publish an expiry date or a renewal cycle for full registration. The SACE Act 31 of 2000 allows the Council to set one — section 5(a)(v) says the Council may "prescribe the period of validity of the registration or provisional registration" — but we could not find any SACE publication that actually sets a validity period for full registration. On the evidence available, full registration continues until your name is removed from the register.
That is not the same as nothing being required of you.
Levies, and what actually happens if you fall behind
Removal is governed by section 23 of the Act. Section 23(1) lets SACE direct that your name be removed where, among other things, "the educator fails to pay the fees prescribed by the council within a specified period", the educator "was found guilty of a breach of the code of professional ethics", the qualification is withdrawn or cancelled by the institution that issued it, or the educator asks to be de-registered.
Removal is not automatic, and the Act builds in a process. Section 23(3) provides: "The name of an educator contemplated in subsection (1) (a), (b), (c) and (e) may not be removed from the register unless the educator was given a reasonable opportunity to make representations to the council." Non-payment of fees is paragraph (e), so arrears cannot cost you your registration without your first being given a chance to answer. Section 23(2) requires notice of removal "by way of certified mail addressed to the relevant address appearing in the register", which is a reason to keep your address with SACE current. Only then does section 23(4) bite: "As from the date on which notice contemplated in subsection (2) has been given to the educator any registration certificate issued to the educator concerned is regarded to be cancelled."
So: keep your levies paid, and if SACE writes to you about arrears, answer the letter. That letter is your opportunity to make representations, not a formality.
SACE publishes conflicting levy figures and has not withdrawn any of them. Its undated registration FAQ says "All educators must pay a monthly levy of R10.00"; its undated registration criteria page and registration requirements page both say "The annual levy is R180.00. (R15 per month)"; and SACE’s audited Annual Report 2024/25 refers to "an unchanged educator levy (R16.50/month)". Check your payslip rather than a web page, and confirm the current amount with SACE before paying manually.
Professional development is an ongoing condition too
SACE’s teacher professionalisation material states that teachers "participate in the three-year CPTD system cycle and earn a minimum of 150 Professional Development points", and adds that "educators who decide not to engage in the CPTD system deliberately will be dealt with through section 7 of the SACE Code of Professional Ethics." That matters here, because an ethics finding is itself a removal ground under section 23(1)(c) of the Act. The same page says SACE would not impose a penalty for missed points for the first six years, from 2014 to 2019, and would review the position after that; it does not say what was decided. Ask SACE where your cycle stands rather than assuming.
Periodic renewal: proposed, not in force
The same SACE page lists "Periodic renewal of registration" as step 9 of a path it describes as proposed, tied to the CPTD cycle and "Professional Re-Certification", and the detail around it is a pilot study with dates from 2018. Treat it as a proposal, not a current requirement.
Provisional registration does have a limit
Section 22 of the SACE Act sets the mechanism. Subsection (4) lets the Council register an applicant provisionally "on such conditions as the council may determine"; subsection (5) requires the Council to register you fully once you satisfy the requirements and those conditions; subsection (6) says that if you do not satisfy the requirements "within the period specified, the provisional registration lapses and the name of the person is removed from the register"; and subsection (7) allows the period to be extended by the Council.
The period is therefore not fixed by law. SACE sets it case by case, it can be extended, and if you miss it your provisional registration lapses and you come off the register. SACE’s undated registration FAQ notes that a provisionally registered student receives "a confirmation letter (with an expiry date)", so check your own letter first: it may state your date.
SACE has published periods for some categories only, on undated pages, so confirm yours with SACE rather than relying on this list. On the registration criteria and procedures page: "Student educators are accommodated for four years until they graduate"; ECD educators with an NQF level 5 certificate at 120 points get "a three-year renewable registration status"; AET educators with the same certificate get "a three-year renewable registration if they provide a proof of registration for a diploma"; and Waldorf and Montessori educators get "a three-year renewable registration status". Separately, the undated registration FAQ states of foreign educators that "Provisional registration will be granted for 12 months only."
That list is not complete, and its absences matter. Other provisional categories on the same criteria page carry no published period at all: therapists holding valid HPCSA registration and skilled persons with an N3 plus a trade test are both registered "as per employer's recommendation", foreign educators "as recommended by the employer", and educators brought in under section 25(8) of the Act "until the date determined by the Minister of Basic Education". If your category is not named above, your period is whatever SACE set in your case. Get it from SACE in writing.
How you renew, extend or convert to full registration
Online, through www.eservices.gov.za. SACE’s Version 2025 booklets set out the steps, and there are more than two of them: go to the portal, "Click on Education, then SACE professional registration", create a profile with a username and password, then log in. One line is worth reading twice: "If you receive a message that your profile already exists OR your ID number is invalid, this means that you are already registered on the eservices and there is no need to create a new profile. Proceed directly to login." Then "Read the terms and conditions and begin the application process, click on new application or status update if you are already registered with SACE." SACE’s own website names this route "Update Registration Status/ Registration extension".
What it costs
The Version 2025 booklets state "Update Fee R50", alongside "Registration fee R200 for SA citizens" and, in the non-SA-citizen booklet, "R400 registration / R50 Update", with the caveat "Note that Council Fees are subject to change." R50 is the figure SACE attaches to a status update.
SACE does not publish a price specifically for converting a provisional registration to full registration. Its undated registration FAQ describes that step as supplying SACE with certified copies of the certificates and identity document, and names no fee. Budget for R50, but confirm the amount with SACE before you pay.
Separately, and from undated sources: SACE’s registration requirements page prices a "Replacement of a lost certificate or any proof of registration" at R50, and the Registration Requirements, Revised November 2024 calls R50 a reprint fee for a duplicate certificate.
If it lapses while you are teaching
Section 21 of the Act is blunt: "A person who qualifies for registration in terms of this Act must register with the council prior to being appointed as an educator", and "No person may be employed as an educator by any employer unless the person is registered with the council." Read together with section 22(6), a lapsed provisional registration takes your name off the register while the Act forbids an employer to employ an unregistered person as an educator. That is our reading of the two sections, not a SACE ruling: SACE publishes no statement of what actually happens to a serving teacher’s post, and no procedure for it. Do not let the date pass while you find out. Speak to SACE, and speak to your union.
If you have already been removed
SACE’s undated registration criteria and procedures page provides for re-registration: "Any person whose name has been removed from the register may re-apply for registration with the Council", and "An application for re-registration must be accompanied by the reasons for the removal of the person's name from the register and a detailed motivation regarding why the application should be approved." It adds that "The procedures applicable to an applicant for registration apply to any application for re-registration", which reads as putting you through the ordinary application route. SACE publishes no fee figure for re-registration, so ask what it will cost.
A caution on SACE’s own pages
SACE’s website contradicts itself in three places that bear directly on this section, and it has left every side of each contradiction live.
Post or online. Undated pages still say "NO INTERNET, FAXED OR EMAILED DOCUMENTS WILL BE ACCEPTED" and describe posting original forms. The dated 2024 requirements and the Version 2025 booklets say the opposite: every application and update goes through the online portal. We follow the dated documents.
The levy. Three published figures, set out above. Confirm before quoting one.
Who may hold provisional registration. The registration requirements page says flatly "Please note that provisional registration is for student educators only", while the registration criteria page lists at least eight non-student categories and section 22(4) of the Act is not limited to students. Do not rely on the narrower statement.
Sources: South African Council for Educators Act 31 of 2000 (consolidated), sections 5, 21, 22 and 23; SACE Version 2025 registration booklets; Registration Requirements, Revised November 2024; SACE’s Annual Report 2024/25; and SACE’s undated registration FAQ, registration criteria and procedures, registration requirements and teacher professionalisation pages. All accessed 18 September 2026.
You asked: How many CPTD points do I need?
How do I sign up for CPTD and get my points recorded?
Sign up on the CPTD Information System at www.sace.gov.za first — you cannot earn or record points until you have. SACE’s CPTD Management System page states it plainly: "All educators must sign-up manually or electronically on the CPTD-IS before they participate in their 1st CPTD Cycle."
Signing up
The live portal is at www.sace.gov.za, titled "SACE CPTD Management System", with Sign-Up and Log-In in its top menu. SACE’s current CPTD self-service portal manual, downloadable from that portal, gives the steps: "Open your web browser and go into www.sace.gov.za", then click the CPTD-IS tab and choose Educator sign up. You complete the form and a security check, and "the system will give you the username and password which will also be sent to the cellphone numbers captured when signing up."
The same current manual says "BOTH your SACE Registration number and ID/Passport Number are compulsory", and that "Only student educators can sign-up without SACE number."
SACE’s older, undated CPTD sign-up manual says something different on both points. It sends educators to www.sace.org.za and a "CPTD Self-service portal" tab, and it says that if you do not enter a SACE registration number the system will issue a temporary username and password and give you 60 days to register with SACE and update your CPTD records. SACE’s own CPTD forms page resolves the address question in practice by linking "CPTD-IS" to sace.gov.za, and that is the site that currently works. On the SACE-number question the two manuals simply disagree, so go by the current one and have your SACE number ready.
There is also a manual route, set out in that older sign-up manual: you complete a printed profile form obtainable "from the SACE website/offices, CPTD system workshop sessions, and provincial education departments' teacher development units", and the completed form is "faxed to SACE (086 571 5260)", "Posted to SACE (Private Bag x127, CENTURION, 0046)" or "E-mailed to member@sace.org.za". Your username and password then arrive by SMS. Because that document predates the move to sace.gov.za, phone SACE before using the paper route.
What the portal does
Once you are logged in, the portal is where you keep your record. SACE lists its uses as "Updating your Personal Details on a Regular Basis... Log and Track a Query on the CPTD System Matters... Access the Database of Endorsed PD Activities / Programmes... Access the Database of Approved Providers... Upload/Report PD Activities / Programmes you Participated in (Type 1, Type 2, Type 3 Activities)... Upload/Report Earned PD Points... View Your Annual and Three Years Cycle PD Activities and Points Report... Work on the PDP online."
Who reports your points, and why you should not leave it to someone else
A personal PD points account is created for you when you sign up. Reporting is meant to be shared between you, your school and providers — but SACE’s own documents do not agree on where the line falls, so record everything yourself and check what lands in your account.
On one reading, the PD Points Schedule splits the duty: "Teachers must REPORT their participation in type 1 activities to SACE. Schools must REPORT the participation of teachers in type 2 activities to SACE and teachers must be able to verify these reports... Providers must REPORT the participation of teachers in type 3 activities to SACE and teachers must be able to verify these reports."
But three other passages put Type 2 back on you. The same schedule’s Type 2 section says "it is very important for you to record your participation in type 2 activities in your Professional Development Portfolio and report them to SACE twice a year (May/June and October/November)." The CPTD Handbook says "A teacher will record Type 1 and Type 2 PD points in the personal PDP... Teachers will send their PD activities and points to SACE by uploading them electronically on the CPTD self-service portal... post, e-mail or fax." And the portal itself is built for all three types: when you record an activity you choose "Teacher Initiated, or School Initiated or Externally Initiated".
The practical position. Report your Type 1 activities yourself, without fail. Do not assume your school has reported your Type 2 activities — log them too, or confirm with your principal that the school has signed up and has reported for you. Type 3 activities are reported by the approved provider or employer, and your job is to check that they appear. Keep your own record in your Professional Development Portfolio in every case, because SACE says it "expects teachers to record their points honestly. Dishonest reporting is unprofessional conduct."
When and how to report
For your own Type 1 activities the PD Points Schedule sets the rhythm: "As a teacher you are responsible for reporting your Type 1 (Teacher Initiated) PD activities to SACE twice a year (each semester) in May/June and October/November OR as soon as you are done with it." The older CPTD Handbook describes the same two rounds as June and November.
Either route works: "Reporting could be done manually by sending selected templates from your PDP to SACE OR online through the CPTD Self-Service Portal." If you use paper, send only the relevant pages — the schedule is emphatic: "DO NOT SEND YOUR WHOLE PDP TO SACE." And if you keep the portfolio on the portal there is nothing further to send: "If you complete your Professional Development Portfolio Online, there is no need for you to report because your participation in PD activities and points earned are populated to your online CPTD records automatically."
Points do not always appear immediately. Some activities need a minimum number of occurrences before they credit — the schedule requires you to "attend at least 8 relevant educational meetings per annum in order to claim 10 PD Points for the year."
Where the points come from
Three kinds of activity: Type 1, which you initiate yourself; Type 2, initiated by your school; and Type 3, initiated externally by employers or SACE-approved providers. You must draw on all three. The PD Points Schedule states: "You have to earn at least 150 Professional Development (PD) Points in every three years of your CPTD cycle. You must participate in all three different types of professional development activities/programmes to earn the 150 PD Points", and warns in capitals: "YOU MUST ALSO REMEMBER THAT YOU CANNOT EARN ALL 150 PD POINTS FROM TYPE 1 ACTIVITIES ONLY."
Each listed activity carries a set value, shown per semester, per year and per three-year cycle. The examples below are quoted with their activity type, because the type is what you need when you are planning:
- Type 1, your own. "You need to read at least FOUR (4) educational articles... in order to earn 10 PD points per annum", rising to 30 points across the three-year cycle.
- Type 3, employer or provider-led. "Attending one day District workshop session on new policies and legislation and earn 10 PD Points."
- Type 3, employer or provider-led. "Attending a half- day conference/seminar session will earn you 5 PD Points."
- Type 3, employer or provider-led. "Attending 2 days Provincial conference/seminar will earn you 15 PD Points."
Beyond the rule that Type 1 alone cannot make up the 150, SACE publishes no overall ceiling per type. The schedule also notes that its lists are examples: "If you participate in an activity that is not listed in this PD Points Schedule, please contact SACE so that we can assist you with the correct PD Points allocation."
On the scheme set out in SACE’s CPTD Handbook — which is undated, is 2013 or January 2014 vintage, and has not been republished — a Certificate of Achievement is issued at the end of a cycle: "150 points: Certificate of Achievement (Bronze); 151-300 points: Certificate of Achievement (Silver); 300+points: Certificate of Achievement (Gold)." As written, exactly 300 points falls in both the Silver and the Gold band; SACE has not resolved that. The same Handbook says unused points do not carry over: "At the end of each teacher's three year cycle the PPDPA is re-set to zero."
Is it compulsory?
Yes, on two separate grounds, both from SACE’s CPTD Handbook, which asks and answers the question directly: "Is participation in professional development compulsory? Yes. Participation in professional development is mandatory for all teachers." The first ground is the Code of Professional Ethics you accept on registration, whose section 7 requires educators to keep abreast of educational trends and developments. The second is your employment: "all state-employed teachers and many privately-employed teachers are required to undertake professional development as part of their conditions of service." SACE’s own duty to run the system sits in section 5(b)(iv) of the SACE Act.
What happens if you do not reach 150 points
SACE’s published position, from the Handbook and repeated on its teacher professionalisation page: "For the first six years (from 2014-19) SACE will not impose a penalty on teachers who don't achieve the PD points target within their three year cycle. After six years (in 2019) SACE will review the situation and make a decision about sanctions for non-compliance. However, educators who decide not to engage in the CPTD system deliberately will be dealt with through section 7 of the SACE Code of Professional Ethics."
The same Handbook flags where this could go: "All professional bodies require that their members must continuously develop and many require their members to achieve a target number of PD points as a condition of retaining their registration. This is one of the options SACE may consider when it reviews teachers' participation in the CPTD Management System." That is a stated option, not a rule in force. We could find no published SACE decision on sanctions following the 2019 review, and nothing in SACE’s published sources tying the 150-point target to registration, to renewal or to a letter of good standing today.
SACE’s own Annual Performance Plan for 2025/26 — a planning document SACE tables and reports on, not a statement to educators — describes the position this way: "compliance remains low, particularly in rural areas... The absence of a structured compliance tracking mechanism has resulted in inconsistent enforcement of CPTD participation."
So: participation is compulsory as a professional duty and, for most teachers, as a condition of service; deliberate non-engagement can be handled as an ethics matter; and SACE has published no active penalty for missing the 150-point target, while saying openly that linking points to registration is an option it may consider.
Which cycle am I in?
SACE has published only the first cycle for each cohort: principals and deputy principals from January 2014 to December 2016, heads of department from January 2015 to December 2017, and post-level-1 teachers from January 2016 to December 2018, each "and thereafter every three years". We could not find any SACE publication stating which three-year cycle is running now, and rolling those dates forward ourselves would be arithmetic rather than a published fact. Log in at www.sace.gov.za and check your own cycle status there. The portal lists 086 1007 223 as its contact number, and SACE’s CPTD page gives 012 663 9517 for the CPTD unit.
Sources: SACE CPTD Management System page; the current CPTD self-service portal manual and Professional Development Points Schedule, both served from sace.gov.za; the undated CPTD Handbook and CPTD Sign Up Manual; SACE’s teacher professionalisation page; and SACE’s Annual Performance Plan 2025/26. All accessed 18 September 2026.
What do I do if my SACE registration is stuck?
A stalled registration is not the same as a slow one. If your application has been complete and correctly certified for an unreasonable period, if it has been rejected for a reason you do not understand, or if your registration has lapsed while you are employed, that is a matter someone can act on for you.
This is the practical difference a union makes. NAPTOSA Western Cape takes these up with SACE and, where employment is affected, with the provincial department. Members do not queue on their own behalf.
Questions teachers ask
How much does a SACE certificate cost?
R200 if you are a South African citizen and R400 if you are not, plus an R50 update fee. Each figure comes from a different Version 2025 booklet, and the one for duplicates is not in the booklets at all — the sourced breakdown is in what a SACE certificate costs and how long it really takes. SACE revises these, so confirm at sace.org.za before paying.
What is needed to register for SACE?
It depends on your category: SACE publishes four separate Version 2025 booklets and there is no single checklist that covers everyone. Common to all four: a certified copy of your ID or passport, a certified copy of your school-leaving certificate (NSC, Senior Certificate, NASCA or NCV Level 4, not a statement of results), the relevant NQF Level 7 teaching qualification and its certified transcript, a certified academic record on institutional letterhead, a police clearance certificate not older than six months, and proof of payment. PGCE applicants must also submit the junior qualification's certificate and academic record. Qualifications obtained outside South Africa need a SAQA evaluation, and applying provisionally while still studying needs proof of institutional registration.
How long does online SACE registration take?
SACE’s only dated figure is thirty working days, in its Annual Performance Plan 2026/27 — and that is a target it reports to the Minister for issuing a certificate after assessment, not a promise to you. Its other published figures are undated and disagree with one another. The full comparison, with what each figure actually measures, is in what a SACE certificate costs and how long it really takes.
How do I check if I am registered with SACE?
Go to sace.org.za and use Verify My Educator Status. It asks for one thing, your South African ID number or your passport number, and returns your educator status on screen. No SACE number, no documents and no upload. A separate route, verification@sace.org.za, exists for confirming that a certificate or letter someone has shown you is genuine. If you are unsure whether an application was ever finalised, assume it was not and check.
How many CPTD points do I need?
150 points across each three-year cycle, drawn from self-initiated, school-initiated and endorsed activities. NAPTOSA records points for members who attend its professional development activities.